Being in a car accident can be hard. You may be suffering from some injuries, and the damage to your vehicle that the insurance does not want to pay could be putting you behind. Many people wonder if they should find a car accident lawyer in Arkansas, or if it is too late to file a car accident lawsuit. Whether your accident just happened or it has been some time since you were in the accident, it is important to find the help that you need when you are in a car accident in Conway Arkansas.
Time Limits on a Car Accident Lawsuit in Conway Arkansas.
If you live in the state of Arkansas, you have up to three years to file your car accident lawsuit if you are either injured when you are in a car wreck in Conway, Arkansas or you had some damage that occurred to your property when a car accident occurred.
It is important to know when this three-year clock starts ticking. It is not going to start ticking once you have time to find an auto accident attorney in your area. It starts from the date the accident occurred. If you wait too long to talk to a car accident attorney in Arkansas and then it takes too long to file a car accident lawsuit, it may not be done within the three years that you are given. If you are late with the filing, you will not be able to file it at all.
This statute of limitations are only able to affect the amount of time you have to file a case in the courts in Arkansas. However, the length of time you have to file a claim with your insurance may be different. Your insurance policy will contain details about deadlines that the company will enforce when it comes to claims. While most companies give you a little leeway for if you get really hurt in a car accident in Conway, Arkansas, it is best to file your claim as soon as possible. Filing early helps to protect your legal options by giving you some time to file a court case of negotiations break down or don’t proceed.
If you have been involved in a traffic incident occurring on government property or involving a government employee, such as being hit by a city boss or injured in some way when you are driving on government property, your time limit is much smaller. You need to find a car accident attorney as quickly as possible because you will not be given the three years like you would with other car accidents.
Comparative Fault Rules in Arkansas
If you do take your case for a car accident in Conway, Arkansas to court, both you and the other party, will be able to present evidence to the judge or the jury. Depending on what you are able to present, the jury or the judge can determine whether the other person is completely at fault, but they also have the ability to determine that you are partially to blame as well.
Your car accident lawyer in Arkansas can help you understand this better, but this state uses a modified comparative fault system which helps to determine how much you can be blamed for the crash and it influences how much you can receive in damages. So, if you do a car accident case, the jury could decide that your damages come out to $10,000. But then they decide that you are 20 percent at fault for the accident. This means that while the other party is guilty, you will only receive eighty percent of the damages.
You can talk with your car accident lawyer in Arkansas to determine if you can be blamed for part of the accident or not and to determine how much, if any, this is going to influence the damages you are rewarded. It is never a good idea to assume that the other party is the one to blame all the time. Even if you are the one who got injured the most, the jury could determine that you were partially to blame. Your car accident attorney will be able to help you understand how this works a bit better.
If you have been in an accident and wanted to file a car accident in Conway Arkansas claim, make sure that you have the right attorneys on your side. Contact us at Denton and Zachary law firm to discuss your case and see how we can help you after a car accident.